I am still here and so is Bird Flu

I’m Back!!  Miss me? Lol I took a break for a bit while I have been researching the elections, watching them on the edge of my seat and screaming at the television reporters. I decided the entire thing is rigged anyways so I gave up on it.  Oh, if anyone cares that we of Florida and Michigan are not allowed to be in this election here is a petition I encourage you to sign to seat our delegates NOW.  It does not matter what state you live in, you can sign it from any state.   http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/seatourdelegates/index.html 

Today I started reading up on the bird flu and was totally shocked.  The first thing I saw was 100 people dead in Indonesia.  Now, having taken a bit of a break and coming back to this bird flu topic was quite an eye opener.  I was totally overwhelmed.   

As I was reading, it seems that this H5N1 thing is everywhere.  It is not slowing down and is not stopping. Even after years of fighting this bird flu, it is still on the move.  I sat back and thought, “Gee, it didn’t go away.”  

Somehow this struck me as an odd thought which made me wonder if I actually did think it would go away?  This avian flu has been around for years, it is constantly refusing to leave no matter how many millions of birds are culled. It is changing and mutating. Every time we think okay, it is quiet, this mega flu starts to scream again.  

 I’m sorry, I am disturbed that there are 100 people dead out of 124 cases in Indonesia.  That is a death rate of almost 80 percent.  I rolled that number off my tongue several times…EIGHTY PERCENT death rate!  It was not a pleasant sensation.  Now what if this was a pandemic?  There are six billion people (give or take a few) in the world and at 80 percent death rate if this went across the board with an 80 percent death rate (which it will not) it would be utter, total devastation.   

Today was a start after a little break here for me. I’m back at this again. I do have to admit, it scared the heebie zeebies out of me when I started reading all the posts and articles on it.  What also struck me was how easy it was for me to close my eyes and just pretend it had gone away.  By throwing myself into the primary presidential elections, I did not have to watch the horror of this play out in front of me day by day.  I think now I have a little better understanding of why people do not want to hear about it, do not want to acknowledge it as it is so easy to just close your eyes and pretend it doesn’t exist.  Today was a wake up call for me when I read the bird flu reports.  I just can’t imagine with the over whelming feeling I had today how bad it is going to be for people who are not prepared.   

FYI : Canada goose tests positive for H5N1 avian flu in Dorset 2/29/08

http://birdflubreakingnews.com/templates/birdflu/window.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fwi.co.uk%2FArticles%2F2008%2F02%2F29%2F109601%2Fcanada-goose-tests-positive-for-h5n1-avian-flu-in-dorset.html

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

